top of page

Title : Brahms - Cello Sonatas
Artist : Mstislav Rostropovich (cello),
Ruldof Serkin (piano)

Cat No. : LP43037
Label : Deutsche Grammophone
Format : 1 LP, 180g Vinyl
Barcode: 8808678160376

* From the original masters of Universal Music.
* Audiophile analogue mastering by Daniel Krieger
* Cutting at Schallplatten Schneid Technik Brüggemann GmbH
* 180g audiophile virgin vinyl

Our younger generation of cello soloists seems to favour a tone production which balances a refined upper range with a middle and lower register that’s strong and well focused, rather than expansively rich and resonant. Readers will not need to be told that Rostropovich’s solo image is definitely not of this ilk: his musical personality is in every sense larger than life and in this magnificent coupling of the cello sonatas, in partnership with Rudolf Serkin, the very forward balance of the recording exaggerates this impression in the most vivid way. By comparison the piano image – to the right of and behind the cello – is more reticent in timbre and seldom matches Rostropovich’s rich flood of sound, which isn’t, of course, to suggest that Serkin fails to project the music, merely that the microphone placing makes Rostropovich very much the dominating artist. This passionately warm-hearted and ripely Brahmsian music-making almost overwhelms the listener in its sheer impact. But with playing of this calibre, with both artists wonderfully attuned to each other’s responses, every nuance tells and Brahms’s bold melodic lines soar out from the speakers to capture the imagination, and provide an enthralling musical experience in each and every work.
- <The Gramophone Magazine>

* Originally Released on 1983

Brahms - Cello Sonatas

  • Details

    Johannes Brahms(1833-1897)
    - Die Cellosonaten / The Cello Sonatas

    SIDE 1 Sonate Für Klavier Und Violincello e-Moll Op. 38
    1. Allegro Non Troppo
    2. Allegretto Quasi Menuetto
    3. Allegro

    SIDE 2 Sonate Für Klavier Und Violincello F-Dur Op. 99
    1. Allegro Vivace
    2. Adagio Affettuoso
    3. Allegro Passionato
    4. Allegro Molto
bottom of page