top of page

Artist : Eduard Melkus (violin), Hans-Jürg Lange(bassoon), 
Gerald Sonneck(cello, viola da gamba), Huguette 
Dreyfus(harpsichord), Karl Scheit (lute),  Lionel Rogg
(organ), Alfred Planyavsky(doublebass)  
Title : H.I.F. Biber  - Sonatas of the Rosary 


RELEASE DATE : 22. Jun. 2020
FORMAT : Vinyl
CAT NO : LP43166
DISC : 2 LP / Gatefold
BARCODE : 8808678161663


• From the original analogue masters of Universal Music  
• Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios   
• 180g audiophile virgin vinyl pressed by Pallas Group GmbH in Germany 
• 6-Panel Insert included / Gatefold Jacket  


Recorded 17– 23. Mar. 1967 
Producer Dr. Gerd Ploebsch, Dr. Hans Hickmann 
Recording Supervisor Klaus Scheibe

There is, as far as I know, nothing in the violin literature quite comparable to these incredibly imaginative, relentlessly intense pictorial essays by Heinrich Franz Biber (1666-1704), that still only half-known Salzburg Kapellmeister who plunged with an almost Joycean intellect into the task of delineating the Mysteries of the Rosary in musical outline... Any way you look at it, these sonatas are an experience; one is apt to forget, over a long period of time, just how remarkable - even exhausting -they are. The Melkus performance, a bit more assertive and tending towards brisker tempos, also offers a strong temptation to the buyer. For the continuo part it employs the six instruments listed above. in varying combinations, and in certain sonatas it seems to me that the handling of continuo is more successful - that is, more aggressively set forth - in the new set. Melkus is tremendously skilled and forthright, and his work is exciting. These qualities are evident too in his playing of the solo Passacaglia, a relatively simple example of the form which nonetheless manages to hold you fast. Sound is superb-spacious and clean. High Fidelity  

H.I.F. Biber  - Sonatas of the Rosary

  • Track List

    Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber  
    - 15 Sonaten Über Die Mysterien Des Rosenkranzes 

    Side 1 
      1. Sonate I 
      2. Sonate II 
      3. Sonate III 
      4. Sonate IV 
      5. Sonate V 

    Side 2 
      1. Sonate VI 
      2. Sonate VII 
      3. Sonate VIII 
      4. Sonate IX 

      1. Sonate X 
      2. Sonate XI 
      3. Sonate XII 
      4. Sonate XIII 

    Side 4 
      1. Sonate XIV 
      2. Sonate XV 
      3. Passacaglia G-Moll für Violine Solo

bottom of page