top of page

Artist :Nathan Milstein (violin)
Title J.S Bach—Partitas & Sonatas for unaccompanied violin


RELEASE DATE : 7.June. 2019
FORMAT : Vinyl
CAT NO : LP43130
DISC : 3 LP  Box with 4 page panel insert
BARCODE : 8808678161274


Recorded: 26 & 31 March 1954 (Sonata No. 1 ), 6 February 1956 (Partita No. 1 ), 27 December 1956 (Sonata No.2), 23-24 March 1954 (Partita No.2), 5 & 16-17 March 1956 (Sonata No.3), 28 December 1955 (Partita No.3), Capitol Studio A, 46th Street, New York 
Producer: Richard C. Jones 
Balance Engineer: Frank Abbey


• From the original masters of Universal Music.
• Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios.
• 180g audiophile virgin vinyl pressed by Pallas Group GmbH in Germany.
• LXT-2766


Milstein’s interpretation of these difficult works is at once brilliant and satisfying – although because of its very brilliance it is not perhaps as deeply satisfying as Johanna Martzy’s. It depends rather on what you imagine to be the ideal surroundings for a performance: a public recital or your own room. The music itself seems to me capable of supporting both interpretations, for it combines the rhetoric of extreme technical difficulty with a richness of detail that seems to call for more intimacy than a recital-hall can give us. Perhaps the ideal performance would retain Martzy’s inwardness, but infuse it with a little of Milstein’s sheer physical vigour and impact. For him the technical difficulties hardly seem to exist, or rather, exist only as a stimulus to bravura; by her they are accepted as an essential, organic part of the music, a result of the complexity of Bach’s thought. I suppose one could generalize on the masculine and feminine approaches to music with this as one’s text, but I don’t feel tempted to do so. Nor do I feel tempted to plump dogmatically for one or the other as “best available version”. Both are exceptionally distin-guished presentations of music that is not nearly as austere as its reputation might suggest. I do suggest, though, that before buying either set it might be a good idea to sample both. Gramophone

J.S Bach—Partitas & Sonatas for unaccompanied violin

  • Track List

    Side 1
    Sonata No. 1 In G Minor, BWV 1001
    1. Adagio
    2. Fuga. Allegro
    3. Sicilana
    4. Presto
    Side 2
    Partita No. 1 In B Minor, BWV 1002
    1. Allemanda
    2. Double
    3. Corrente
    4. Double. Presto
    5. Sarabanda
    6. Double
    7. Tempo Di Borea
    8. Double
    Side 3
    Sonata No. 2 In A Minor, BWV 1003
    1. Grave
    2. Fuga
    3. Andante
    4. Allegro
    Side 4
    Partita No. 2 In D Minor, BWV 1004
    1. Allemanda
    2. Corrente
    3. Sarabanda
    4. Giga
    5. Ciaccona
    Side 5
    Sonata No. 3 In C Major, BWV 1005
    1. Adagio
    2. Fuga
    3. Largo
    4. Allegro Assai
    Side 6
    Partita No. 3 In E Major, BWV 1006
    1. Preludio
    2. Loure
    3. Gavotte En Rondeau
    4. Menuet I
    5. Menuet II - Menuet I Da Capo
    6. Bourrée

bottom of page