top of page

Artist : Mischa Elman (violin),Joseph Seiger (Piano)

Title: Encores 


Cat No: LP43105

Label: DECCA

Format: 1LP / 180g 

Barcode: 8808678161052


Recording Information

Recorded 15-18 & 22-23 Oct 1956 at West Hampstead Studios
Producer: Paul Hamburger


  • From the original masters of Universal Music
  • Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios.
  • 180g audiophile virgin vinyl pressed by Pallas GmbH in Germany


Elman still plays with charm and elegance... In this batch of pieces, where the encore wags the concert, so to speak, Elman and Seiger combine war-horses and novelties in captivating manner. I was charmed by the exotic From San Domingo, by Arthur Benjamin, with its echoes of guitars and popular songs. Charles Miller’s Cuba-naise... (its) vivacious rhythms and sonorous middle section are most appealing. Perhaps the item that most lis-teners will fall for is Elman’s arrangement of the so-called Canto Amoroso by Sammartini, an encore which Elman has made peculiarly his own. - Gramophone


Mischa Elman - Encores

SKU: LP43105
  • Track List

    SIDE A
    1. Slavonic Fantasia (Dvořák)
    2. Song Without Words, Op. 62, No.1 (Mendelssohn)
    3. Cubanaise (Miller)
    4. Liebesleid (Kreisler)
    5. Tango (Elman)


    SIDE B
    1. Airs Tsiganes (Espejo)
    2. Canto Amoroso (Sammartini)
    3. Chanson Polonaise (Mazurka) (Wieniawski)
    4. From San Domingo (Benjamin)
    5. From My Homeland (Smetana)

bottom of page