top of page
Title : Schubert — Songs without Words
Artist : Mischa Maisky (cello),
Daria Hovora (piano)

Cat No :LP43068
Label : DG
Format : 2LP
Barcode : 8808678160680

● From the original masters of Universal Music
● Audiophile analogue mastering by Hans-Jörg Mauksch
● Cutting to copperplate at Pauler Acoustics
● 180g audiophile virgin vinyl pressed by Pallas GmbH in Germany
● First time ever on vinyl records.

Recordings : Rapperswil, Schloß, Rittersaal, 1/1996
Recording Producer : Christian Gansch
Tonmeister (Balance Enginner) & Editing : Oliver Rogalla
Recoring Engineer: Reinhard Legemann

Here cellist Mischa Maisky and pianist Daria Hovora turn in a beautiful version of Schubert’s songful Arpeggione Sonata, as well as instrumental takes on some of the composer’s most beloved lieder. Music doesn’t get any more intimate or heartbreaking than“Ständchen” or “Der Müller Und Der Bach”, and it’s hard to imagine any voice more emotionally eloquent than Mischa Maisky’s plangent tone. - Billboard

...Maisky's Arpeggione is warm, effortless and, for the most part, judiciously phrased. Darla Hovora remains discreetly in the background (as a musical personality, that is, not as a physical presence) and although I found some of the Allegretto's rubato just a mite contrived, the performance is a good one...

...Maisky makes a lovely sound, especially in, say, An die Musik, where the cello's upper registers project with great warmth of tone... (Gramophone)

Schubert — Songs without Words

  • Details

    Franz Schubert (1797~1898)

    SIDE A
    1. Die Chöne Müllerin, D.795 - 6. Der Neugierige
    2. Nur Wer Die Sehnsucht Kennt, D.877 No.4 (Mignons Gesang, 4th Version)
    3. Winterreise, D.911 - 19. Täuschung
    4. Winterreise, D.911 - 24. Der Leiermann
    5. Nacht Und Träume, D.827
    6. Schwanengesang, D.957 (Cycle) - Am Meer
    SIDE B
    1. An Die Musik, D.547 (Op.88/4)
    2. Die Forelle, D.550 (Op.32)
    3. Schwanengesang, D.957 - Ständchen "Leise Flehen Meine Lieder
    4. Der Einsame, D.800
    5. Die Schöne Müllerin, D.795 - 19. Der Müller Und Der Bach
    6. Heidenröslein, D. 257 (Op.3/3)
    SIDE C
    1. Litanei Auf Das Fest Allerseelen, D.343
    2. Du Bist Die Ruh', D.776 (Op.59/3)
    3. Sonata For Arpeggione And Piano In A Minor, D.821 - 1. Allegro Moderato
    SIDE D
    1. Sonata For Arpeggione And Piano In A Minor, D.821 - 2. Adagio
    2. Sonata For Arpeggione And Piano In A Minor, D.821 - 3. Allegretto
bottom of page